Intro

Hello World,

As some of you may know, I’m spending this beautiful summer of 2012 out in Jefferson City, Missouri. I’ll be doing some more work with Integrated Pest Management (IPM) through a lab located at Lincoln University. If this sounds at all similar to my work last summer out in Tallahassee with USDA, that’s because it’s pretty much the same job, and I got it through my work last summer, too.

So anyhow, I’ve decided to document my time this summer in a blog format. Why? Great question. I’ve had the wonderful opportunity to take some great, thought – provoking classes recently. Environmental ethics, urban ecology, etc., etc. Along the way, I’ve discovered the tree hugger in me, and I’ll be experimenting with some of those things this summer.

First and foremost, I’ve got a new car. A hybrid. A 2012 Honda Insight, black on black. For those of you who know me as a gearhead, this purchase may be the most unusual happenstance, and trust me, I felt the same way. Fact of the matter is, there’s something funny about driving a hybrid. Doesn’t feel quite right saving all that gas, but hey, what the hell, helps the wallet. My experiences with this car will be one of the main foci of this blog.

Second, I’m mixing up my diet some this summer. While meat is already lacking in what I consume, I’m going to be extra careful to take the vegetarian, or even vegan option when possible. Additionally, I’m committing to doing my best to ensure that the bulk of what I eat is as ‘local’ as possible. I’m already planning on eating a lot of corn.

Third, and perhaps most interestingly, I’m limiting my usage of electricity by not signing up with the power company at my new apartment. I’m already used to not having a TV, never had cable growing up after all. On the other hand, the lack of internet is not something I’ve had for extended periods of time (no power = no internet if you haven’t made the connection). No hot water either, bummer. Now, I’m not completely withdrawing from society, or anything close to it. In fact, I’ll still be charging my laptop and phone at work, and I’ll be taking hot showers at the neighborhood gym. So while far from a third world experience, I’ll still attempt to limit my impact by cooking on a camp stove, lighting my apartment with only a small hurricane lantern, washing all my clothes by hand, etc.

In addition to these three main goals, I’ll keep a mind towards the small things as well. I’ll try and make sure to not drive more than ten miles per week (work, library, gym, groceries are all within three miles of the apartment so I should be able to walk everywhere).

Overall, I’m a bit nervous about this whole adventure. Missouri will out me about ten times further from the ocean than I think I’ve ever been; I’m never comfortable that far away from the nearest palm tree; heck, I even hear it snows in the winter (!). This blog will hopefully illustrate to my friends and family what I’m up to on a fairly regular basis. I’ll post some pics and some notes about my drive up there (I leave tomorrow morning) shortly.

For now, peace out. If you have any questions, or anything you’d like me to document during my trip this summer, please feel free to let me know.

Leave a comment